Chili Dogs…. But Better!

When I was in elementary school I choked on a hotdog, then again a few weeks later. From then until high school, I swore them off! Then one day I decided to try them again and thought they were absolutely disgusting! At 21 years old I had this huge hankering for them and swear to you, I ate 3 hotdogs when my mom served them at my younger brothers birthday party. A few weeks later I started to get morning sickness and it all made sense… pregnancy cravings! You could imagine my disappointment when my nurse told me that was a craving I shouldn’t give into while pregnant, honest to goodness, I could NOT shake it, so finally at a later appointment I told my doctor how I was feeling and he laughed & told me to go ahead and have one, it was the most love I’ve ever had for a man (okay, maybe I’m exadurating a tad)! After I had my lovely Elaina, they went back to sounding appalling to me. Little more than a year later thought I’d make hotdogs for dinner… yep! Pregnant again! This time I wasn’t so hard on myself, if I wanted a hotdog, I ate a hotdog! After I had Everlee I didn’t crave them but they weren’t so odious to me. Few months later, they sounded good again! Scared the crap out of me but I was not pregnant, turns out, I just finally started to like them! None of this REALLY matters but I’ve come a long way from not liking them to coming up with recipes for them. 

I stumbled across a chili cheese dog recipe by Pillsbury made it as directions said but if you’ve read any of my previous posts, you’d see I’m always tweaking the things I make so I’m going to show you how I made that recipe my own. 

What you’ll need. 

  • Kraft America  (I preferred white American) singles
  • Hot dogs 
  • 2 cans of crescent rolls 
  • Chili sauce 

One. 

Pop open your rolls. Rip the roll of rolls in half where it’s periferated & then unroll the half, you’ll see 4 triangles, rip in half again and form two rectangles from that, press together your two rolls (like shown above), continue to do so throughout both rolls. 

Two. 

Fold cheese slice into thirds and add two of those pieces on your rectangle  (I used 2/3 of a slice per dog, the original recipe calls for a slice per dog, that was just too much for me).

Add your hotdog.

Three. 

Roll your hotdog into the crescent roll nd place on your making sheet, I made mine in my toaster oven, that’s why they are so close together. 

Four. 

Put in your oven (or toaster oven) at 375° for 20 minutes or until the rolls are cooked through and golden brown on the top. 

Five.

 Open your can of chili, pour in a microwave safe bowl and warm in the microwave for 2-3 minutes. 

Six.

Put your ‘dogs on your plate, scoop some chili on top of them as you serve them. I stored the chili & hotdogs separate so they didn’t get soggy.

Served with. 

These were absolutely delicious! I’ve made them in the oven and deep fried and they were tasty in both! I chose to deep fry them this time. 

Just heated my oil to 350°, while waiting for it to heat up, lined a plate with a few pieces of paper towel 

 cooked until they were golden & floating. 

 Put them on my plate to join my chili dog! 

Eat!


Ingredients

  • Kraft America  (I preferred white American) singles
  • Hot dogs 
  • 2 cans of crescent rolls 
  • Chili sauce 

Directions 

  1. Preheat oven to 375°. Open your crescent rolls.  Unroll the whole tube, split into 4 rectangles, smush together the periferated diagonal middle so there’s no holes. 
  2. Fold your cheese slice into thirds, place 2/3 of the slice on the rectangle. Add your hit dog and roll. Continue with all of your hotdogs. 
  3. Place on cooking sheet &  put in your oven for about 20 minutes or until your rolls are golden brown and cooked through. 
  4. While those are coming close to the end of baking. Open your can of chili, pour in a bowl, place in microwave and cook for 2-3.minutes. 
  5. Once both are done cooking, scoop desired amount of chili on each individual hotdog & serve. 
Leave a Reply

