Cheesy Sausage Penne!

Have you ever been craving something that you know you’ve never had? No, I’m not pregnant food just holds a dear place in my heart! All I knew was I wanted to use the kielbasa I had in the freezer with the Velveeta I had in the fridge & make something delicious! Now, the dinner came out absolutely delicious BUT the next time I make it I’ll probably be making a few tweaks that I’ll be sure to include in this post! 

Enough of the small talk! Let’s get to it! 

What you’ll need!

  • Half a brick of Velveeta 
  • Sweet or yellow onion
  • Orange pepper 
  • Milk
  • Penne noodles 
  • Kielbasa 

Step 1.

Cook the noodles as directed! I always add salt to the water to give the noodles a little flavor! 

Drain the noodles & set aside. I added a little olive oil (butter works too) to them so they didn’t stick together as they sat.

step 2. 

Chop the onions until desired side, chop the pepper to small squares, cut the kielbasa to about 1/2 inch thick prices and finally, cube the Velveeta.  

Step 3. 

Sauté up those onions! I only tossed them in over medium heat for maybe a minute or two, I didn’t want them soft because I like a crunch. 

Step 4.

Add the kielbasa to the onion and brown it to desired color, we like ours a little brown with a few burnt spots… one of few things I like a little burnt! 

Step 5.

Add your peppers and give a quick toss!

Step 6.

Add your cheese, mix a lot while cheese melts you don’t want it to burn or melt unevenly. Once it starts melting, add in mill until it thins out a bit (this step will be tweaked). 

Step 6.

Add your noodles, stir until everything is coated evenly!  

Final product. It was very good! 

Buttttttt…..

Not my best work but definitely an easy one pot meal (exactly what I was going for) but it tasted a bit thick for me. My plan for next time will be to 1. Add a larger thing of kielbasa because it seemed like there wasn’t enough once it was all said and done & 2. Give up my idea of a one pot meal. I would follow directions 1-5 as posted but I would make more of a cheese sauce by melting 2 tablespoons of butter in a sauce pan remove from heat to add in 2 tablespoons of flour (mix well), add back to heat and pour in 2 cups of milk & Velveeta mixing until it melt, mine be a step you’ll want to start when you boil your noodles. Then add your noodles and cheese sauce to your kielbasa mix! If anybody tries my recipe adjusted, please let me know how it tastes!! I’ll be sure to add in an update once I get around to making it again!

Review of Red Lobster Biscuit mix 

I decided to try these out because I needed a side and they were an ibotta item but I have to say, this was a hard pass for me! I follow instructions to a T because I have never made them before and they were bone dry and bland! None of us even finished ours! Now, I have never been to a Red Lobster  (not one for sea food) BUT I have to think there is no way they serve these this way! I wouldn’t recommend them, especially for their selling price!  

Ingredients 

  • 12 oz kielbasa 
  • Half block of Velveeta 
  • 16 oz Penne pasta 
  • Yellow or sweet onion 
  • Orange pepper 
  • Milk 

Directions

  1. Start by cooking you noodles as directed on the box, I decided to cook mine in my skillet to make this a one pot meal. While that’s boiling and cooking, start chopping your onions & peppers & cutting your kielbasa into 1/2 inch thick prices and cutting your Velveeta.
  2. Drain the noodles, and keep them in the strainer, add a little butter or olive oil so they don’t start sticking together.
  3. Put your onions in the skillet and cook it up with a bit of oil until it’s your desired amount of cooked (I like mine hardly cooked, maybe a minute or two).
  4. Add the kielbasa & brown it up.
  5. Throw the peppers in there and give a quick toss around the pan.
  6. Add your cubes of cheese and begins melting, stirring a lot so it doesn’t burn or cook unevenly. Once it begins to melt, add your milk to thin out the cheese and pour in your noodles.

With adjustments.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb oz kielbasa or larger
  • Half block of Velveeta 
  • 16 oz Penne pasta 
  • Yellow or sweet onion 
  • Orange pepper 
  • 2 cups Milk 
  • 2 tablespoons Flour
  • 2 tsblespoons Butter 

Directions 

  1. Begin boiling your water in your skillet, meanwhile cubing your Velveeta, chopping you onions and peppers & cutting your kielbasa into 1/2 inch pieces.
  2. Once your water comes to a boil, add your noodles and cook to box directions. 
  3. Start melting your butter in a separate sauce pan over medium- medium/low heat. When your butter melts remove from heat and add in your flour, mix well. Now add in your milk & Velveeta. Mixing often! Do this until cheese is completely melted.
  4. When your noodles are done cooking, pour them in a strainer and stir in a little butter or oil so they don’t stick together. 
  5. Put your onions in the skillet and cook it up with a bit of oil until it’s your desired amount of cooked (I like mine hardly cooked, maybe a minute or two).
  6. Add the kielbasa & brown it up.
  7. Throw the peppers in there and give a quick toss around the pan.
  8. Pour your noodles in the pan and add your cheese sauce, mix until everything is completely coated!
  9. Dinner is serves!
Leave a Reply

