Steak Bites! 

We received an early Christmas present from my future MIL this year, 1/4 of a cow or in other words, I have no room in my freezer for anything else (no, that is NOT a complaint). I only have ever ate steak on rare occasions, I’m more of a chicken person so I’ve been searching and thinking of things to to with all of these steaks! I came across this idea where you cube raw steak, mix some stuff together in a bag and toss around the steak pieces in it, cook it and they said it taste good. Although that sounds mighty tasty, I believe that the longet meat soaks in something, the better it is! Soooo I got out my trusty crock pot and got started!!

Pull your meat…

This may sound like a step that should just be known but I always forget to pull  meat out early and always have to soak it in water for a quick thaw. 

Cube your meat…

I took a little over 2 lbs of round steaks and cut it into about inches strips 

I then cut those striping into cubes, making for perfect bite sized pieces. 

Then I put all if those pieces in the slow cooker and added 1/2 cup of soy sauce 

1/4 cup of Worcestershire sauce 

1/3 cup of extra virgin olive oil 

Squeezed in some garlic , probably about half a tablespoon or so (this is something I ALWAYS keep in the fridge)

I shook a bunch of chopped onion in the mix, probably about a tablespoon. 

Just added a smidgen of basil, maybe equalling half a teaspoon.

I added some black pepper. Just go by taste, I don’t like pepper so when I use it is usually use a very small amount or skip it completely. 

 You’ll want to have your little helper mix it up for you- if you don’t have a helper, that’s ok, you can do it yourself. 

I then turned my crockpot to slow and cooked for 5 hours 

 

Above is what it looked like before I put it away. I was so excited to try this I forgot to take a picture of it on my plate. 

We ate these on tortilla shells but next time I would make butter garlic noodles to go with (find the simple recipe here


Steak Bites

  • 2 lbs round steaks  
  • 1 tbsp basil 
  • 1/2 tbsp minced garlic 
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce 
  • 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce 
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil 
  • Pepper 
  • 1 tbsp minced onion 

1. Cube the steak into bite sized pieces and put in crock pot. 

2. Add in all other ingredients and mix until well blended.

3. Turn crock pot to low for 5 hours or until desired tenderness. 

2 thoughts on “Steak Bites! 

Leave a Reply

