Veggie Roll-Ups

Vegetables are one of the great wonders of the world, in my opinion! Most of them are good raw or cook, alone or mixed with thing, on meat or in eggs! I have two kids, moved out of my mom’s house over 4 years ago when I was 19 or 20, have made dinner for myself & my mini family just about every night & still feel more like a mature adult when I cut fresh veggies & use them in a meal or snack. Maybe that makes me weird but I’m always proud when my family, as a whole, eats well. 

Cream cheese is another food I consider a great wonder, you can add it to almost anything to make it better. I love it in sweet treats, in mashed potatoes, on bagels… need I go on? You can make a delicious veggies dip with cream cheese, a ranch packet and sour cream but I wanted something different than that, so I’m going to walk you through what I made instead. 

Veggie RollUps:

Start with your wraps…

For less than $3 you can pick up a pack of 6 wraps to make these rolls with. I used the Mission brand but I’m sure any other brand would do just as well. 

Cream cheese… 

You’ll want your cream cheese softened to room temperature then dump it into a mixing bowl.

Ranch seasoning… 

I always keep a 16 oz container of Hidden Valley ranch seasoning in my house and I never fail to go through it. I use it all of the time. I am pretty good at eyeballing how much to use but 3 tablespoons is the equivalent of a packet, so if you aren’t comfortable using your eyes as messuring spoons you’ll want to go with that measurement…. or just buy a packet. Now you’ll want to pour your seasoning in the bowl with your cream cheese. 

Dice your veggies…

I used a red, yellow & orange pepper, cut a forth of each one off to use for my mix then diced them up to mini squares. Started by cutting them into strips then running my knife across the strips the other way to make the desired size you’d like your peppers (tip: the smaller the better). Scrape your peppers into the same bowl. 


Onion…

I had a large red onion & cut off a third to chop up. Diced the onion in tiny little pieces, I forgot to use my dicer and was pretty disappointed about it, I am am such a wimp when it comes to cutting onions. You’ll want to pour your onions in the same bowl as everything else once chopped.  

Baby spinach…

Spinach or baby spinach would both be good in the wrap, I picked up a bag of baby spinach this time. All you’ll need is a handful of the baby spinach.  

I took my kitchen scissors & cut the leaves up over the bowl with the mixture in it. 

Mix it…

then I mixed it all together.

Spread it…

I then took a spoonful on my mix, plopped it on one of my wraps & spread a thin layer over it. 

Roll it up…

Take the edge of your wraps & roll it up. I the took a little cream cheese mix to seal it up so it wouldn’t come undone. 

Continue doing that until your mix is all gone

Refrigerate them…

I put the wraps on a plate & cover them with cling wrap (something I have a love/hate relationship with). I placed them in the fridge so the cream cheese would harden back up. 

I started this at night so I kept them in the fridge over night but I’d say an hour or two would be enough. 

Cut it up…

I only wanted parts with a good amount of filling in it so I started by trimming off the ends, they don’t have much on them. Do for both sides 

I cut about the wrap up, making about 1 inch thick pieces. Continue through all of your rolls until you have a bunch of bite (or 2 bite) sized pieces. 

Serve them…

I just threw them on a paper plate with one of those plate supporters underneath because they were just for me. These would look so pretty on a red serving dish for a Christmas finger food. 

Eat & enjoy!


Recipe:

  • 1/4 red pepper- diced
  • 1/4 yellow pepper- dices
  • 1/4 orange pepper- diced
  • 1/3 large red onion- diced 
  • 3 tablespoons ranch seasoning powder, or 1 packet
  • 1 brick of cream cheese- softened 
  • Pack of spinach wraps 

1. Place your softened brick of cream cheese, ranch seasoning & your chopped vegetables (you can substitute those vegetables with any others you prefer) in a bowl and mix together well.

2. Scoop a spoonful of your mixture into a wrap ans spread an even layer across the whole thing. 

3. Roll it up & seal it with a little bit of cream cheese mix so it won’t unravel. And place in fridge for a few hours.

4.  Cut off the end of the roll. Cut the roll into 1 inch thick pieces. 

5. Serve. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

