Chicken Roll-Ups

One thing you’ll get to know about me by reading my recipe posts is I value simplicity when it comes to baking and cooking. Often times I’ll look at somebody else’s recipe and think “how can I make that easier?” or “where can I save time?” now doing that usually means it’s not going to be the absolute healthiest of options at times and usually means canned or frozen food is involved. With that being said I saw a recipe on our beloved Pinterest with Pillsbury crescent rolls, chicken breast, shredded cheese, milk & cream of chicken soup:

  1. cook up chicken breast, cube or shred it, cool
  2. Mix a can of cream of chicken, 1/2 cup of milk, 1/4 cup shredded cheese & chicken 
  3. Put a thin layer of the mixture at the bottom of a 9×13 pan 
  4. Unrolled each roll & spoon some of mixture into the big part of the roll, roll & place in pan. Continue with each roll. Add any extra mixture to the top of the rolls 
  5. Baker at 350 degree for 10 minutes or until golden brown

I felt it was only right to put the original up, that way you can see the changes I have made. I’ve used all of the ingredients listed above except I add more cheese & the chicken I used was canned, yup that’s right, I used canned chicken you see in the store and probably question but it tastes great, less work and nobody in my family has ever gotten sick from it and I have used it a lot!! 


(For those of you with a good eye, that is a crescent dough sheet not the rolls this is NOT what I usually use just what I accidentally bought and had to cut in to triangles) 

I srat by preheating the oven to 375. I open and drain the chicken, empty into a bowl where I’ll add the soup, & cheese & mix together well. Spoon some of the mixture in the pan & cover the bottom then spoon most of the mixture into each roll at the larger end, roll them up & place in the pan & put in the oven until golden brown (can take anywhere from 13-25 minutes).
Chicken rolls

  • Canned chicken
  • 1/4 cup (or more) shredded cheese 
  • Crescent rolls 
  • Can of cream of chicken
  • 1/2 cup milk 

1. Preheat oven to 375. Drain chicken. Mix chicken, soup, milk & cheese in a bowl.

2. Scoop some mixture into your 9×13 pan & spread it across the bottom, covering it. Scoop the rest of the mixture in to the big end of the crescent rolls and roll up, placing the roll in the pan. 


3. Put the rolls in the oven set the timer for 13 minutes & check to see if the rolls are golden brown. Cook until golden brown (can take up to 25 minutes). 

Leave a Reply

